UPSC possible recurrence

I am new to this discussion board - I was diagnosed in December 09 with uterine papillary serous cell CA (combined with endometroid cells). My initial staging was IIIa but I was "upgraded" to Stage II when the FIGO system was revised - I had a total hysterectomy, followed by carboplatin and taxol, followed by pelvic and internal vaginal radiation - the full arsenal -
I am on track for CT scans every 6 months - first one in August was good - but I just had the second and there seems to be some suspicion of recurrence in lymph nodes - so I am scheduled for a PET scan next week.
I try very hard to wait until I have definite information before reacting, but of course am terrified, as well as incredibly disappointed after going thru a pretty rough treatment.
BUT trying to be hopeful and know that even if these nodes are positive, there is still treatment, and time. Would be interested to know if anyone has had recurrence of UPSC in just the lymph nodes and what their next options were for treatment.
Thanks - good to find a community!

Comments

• upsofloating
    upsofloating Member Posts: 466 Member
    Welcome Harrber, but sorry
    Welcome Harrber, but sorry you have the need to join the community.

My recurrence of UPSC was in the lymph nodes - a common location for recurrence to show up -- mine showed up in the para aortic nodes. It was confirmed by positive biopsy as there could be other reasons for enlarged lymph nodes. PET scans show increased uptake of the radioactive glucose by cancer cells.