PTC Tumor in One Lobe, Benign Cyst in Other - Completion Thyroidectomy?

Options
GolfKeith
GolfKeith Member Posts: 5 Member
edited June 3 in Thyroid Cancer #1

Greetings. This is my first time on here. It doesn't feel right even calling myself a cancer survivor. So many people have it way worse than me. I feel my experience is nothing compared to what they are going through. My heart aches for them.

Last fall, a "mass" was detected on my thyroid by accident. MRI for another issue discovered it. February 14th (Happy Valentine's Day to me) I had the right lobe of my thyroid removed. The pathology of that nodule came back with two tumors: one NIFTP and one papillary carcinoma. The previous ultrasound and now the recent US has detected another mass on the left lobe. FNA has come back as a benign colloid nodule. Which is great news, but I can't help but wonder if I should go ahead and have it removed…which would mean a completion thyroidectomy. Being that the other side had cancer, I can't help but feel this is a ticking time bomb.

Anyone else have multiple nodules of varying pathology?

Thank you for reading.

Comments

• J9BND48
    J9BND48 Member Posts: 5 Member
    Options

Hi! I’m new here also so can’t begin to give much in the way of help, but wanted to add what my doctor had recommended to me. I have PTC in the right lobe of the thyroid and multiple nodes in the isthmus and left lobe which have not been biopsied and are not particularly suspicious. My ENT is recommending a total thyroidectomy which I feel is the best option for me.

• GolfKeith
    Options

Thank you for your response. It seems you and I are in similar situations. I wish I would have known about the other mass before the surgery to remove the right lobe. Feels like it would have been an easier decision.

Good luck with your TT. I hope everything goes well and you have a speedy recovery.

• J9BND48
    J9BND48 Member Posts: 5 Member
    Options