Just had MRI

Options
Fixmflym
Fixmflym Member Posts: 10 Member

Hello everyone, just had MRI because my PSA was 14. I have 3 lesions:

1. 1.6 × 0.8 x 1.4 cm lesion left anterior transition zone at the mid gland (ROI #1). PI-RADS 5: Very high (clinically significant cancer is highly likely to be present)
  2. 1.9 x 0.9 x 2.5 cm lesion right posterolateral peripheral zone at the gland base and mid gland with possible extraprostatic extension (ROI #2). PI-RADS 5: Very high (clinically significant cancer is highly likely to be present)
    .3 0.7 x 0.4 cm lesion left posterolateral peripheral zone at the gland base (ROI #3). PI-RADS 4: High (clinically significant cancer is likely to be present

My Dr. hasn’t called me back yet, so it’ll be Monday I’m sure. I’m not knowledgeable yet about all of this. I’m an Airline Pilot and have reached out to our flight nurse, but that to was at the end of the day Friday as well, so no call back. Can anybody give me the nitty gritty on what they see here?
im scheduled for a biopsy on Tuesday but I’m just sitting here with this and don’t know how to process this.

Comments

• Fixmflym
    Options

Also, here’s my prostrate size:

PROSTATE
    Size: 4.8 × 3.6 × 3.7 cm.
    Estimated volume: 33.90 mL. PSA density: 0.35 ng/mL &2.

• jc5549
    jc5549 Member Posts: 38 Member
    edited May 4 #3
    Options

Sorry. you are dealing with this.

You will need an MRI guided biopsy. One commercial term for this is "fusion biopsy." They use an ultrasound probe in the rectum and biopsy either through the rectum or the "taint," (perineum) to get tissue. The fusion part is software that uses the MRI findings to guide areas of interest and take samples. This can be done in the office, is more frequently done in the OR. I had mine in the OR. It is well tolerated, bloody semen for a while and bloody urine sometimes. There is a slightly lower infection rate when biopsied trans-perineally but the transrectal rate is also very low.