Delay times between MRI and Biopsy?

Options
NavyVet1974
NavyVet1974 Member Posts: 4 *

67 y/o male, PSA 6.7ng/ml, recently discovered on blood test. I'm getting healthcare thru VA, who also outsources to local hospital because they have the latest and greatest in MRI/Biopsy abilities. I just had my MRI on 4/21/24 which indicated 19mm lesion and a smaller area of abnormality as well. A targeted biopsy was recommended. PI-RADS 5. Normal sized gland of 25cc.

VA recommended I schedule Biopsy from local hospital, and the soonest I could get scheduled was 7/22/24. To me, that seems quite a delay in treatment, but VA seemed unconcerned. Any thoughts on delaying biopsy for this time period, considering PI-RADS 5? I am new to all of this as it has all recently just been discovered from my annual physical in Jan. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• swl1956
    swl1956 Member Posts: 92 Member
    Options

Sorry you've joined this club, but it's a good place to get some guidance and support. There is an incredible amount to learn about this disease. Seems that most prostate cancers are slow progressing, but 3 months does seem a bit long to wait? In my opinion, get a targeted fusion biopsy, preferably transperineal which is safer than transrectal. You'll need a good biopsy report before figuring out what your treatment options might be. Your gleason score will narrow it down. I know it's not easy, but try to remain calm and make rational decisions. I was diagnosed last November and am scheduled for my first treatment end of May. Six months of stressing out! πŸ˜“ I also had a bone scan and PSMA-PET scan to be more confident there was no metastasis beyond the gland.

If you haven't found him already; Dr. Mark Scholz of PCRI has an informative bunch of videos that I found very helpful. The link below is pertaining to how long can you wait.

https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-b-1-lm&q=dr.+mark+scholz+how+long+can+you+wait#fpstate=ive&vld=cid:a2542947,vid:aotF2SPzCmU,st:0