Rapid rise in PSA, recently diagnosed

Options
wworker
wworker Member Posts: 7 Member
edited February 21 in Prostate Cancer #1

I have recently been diagnosed with prostate cancer following a biopsy in early January (gleason 6, 6 cores positive, 5%-50%, PI). At my follow up appointment my urologist recommended active surveillance with an MRI in 3-4 months. At that point, he said the cancer was "far from scary". They told me to get another PSA last week.

My PSA in Oct. 2022 was 3.72, Oct. 2023 4.58, Dec. 2023 5.24 and last week 7.55. That seems like a rapid rise to me but I'm just starting to learn about all this.

Thoughts?

Comments

• oldspice
    oldspice Member Posts: 57 Member
    Options

If it were me I would definitely be looking for another opinion. After Gleason 6 comes Gleason 7 after Gleason 7 comes cancer treatments. You have reason to be concerned so I would advise you to do your due diligence. Wishing you well.

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 1,013 Member
    edited February 20 #3
    Options

Hi,

A second opinion would not be a bad idea. Do you know where the cancer is located within your Prostate? AS can be an option at 3+3 as long as it remains 3+3 and is not close to escaping the Prostate. Do you know how many quadrants the doctor biopsied and the amount of samples in each quadrant? Typically they take several samples/quadrant, my point is it would be nice to know the volume of each sample and the Gleason score. You could have very little cancer or a Prostate loaded with cancer, if it was me I would want to know that. Your Urologist should have this info in the biopsy report. Low volume /3+3, stay on AS. High volume/3+3 or 3+4 maybe take another route on your cancer?

Dave 3+4

• centralPA
    centralPA Member Posts: 243 Member
    Options

Hi @wworker , sorry you find yourself here.