Questions for first meeting with oncologist

Options
oldspice
oldspice Member Posts: 57 Member
edited December 2023 in Prostate Cancer #1

For all you fighters out there. I am new to this network and to this board and I have my initial meeting on Dec 20th with my oncologist and urologist together. I have plenty of my own questions and have been working hard to educate myself but my question for all of you is looking back, what are the 3 best questions to ask the doctors in your opinion? I will post their conclusions here shortly there after. Thank you all and keep fighting!

Doug age 73 PIRAD5, Gleason 4+3 grade group 3 right mid lateral SUV 3.6 tumor 9mm (pattern 4 is 65% of one core tissue) Grades 1 and 2 nearby as well as internal iliac lymph node SUVmax 9.1. Unfortunately the beast found it way outside of the prostate to a lymph node but PSMA scan shows no other spread at this time.

Comments

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 1,013 Member
    Options

Hi,

Once the cancer has progressed outside of the Prostate, radiation in my non medical opinion is a better solution. But you should check with your medical team to see what they have to say.

Dave 3+4

• Old Salt
    Old Salt Member Posts: 1,327 Member
    Options

One question that I don't know the answer to is whether it is possible to (safely) remove the cancerous lymph node along with the prostate during surgery. You can also ask whether hormone therapy will be recommended directly after surgery, or later in case the PSA rises from (essentially) zero.

The above doesn't imply that I recommend surgery...

• oldspice
    Options

if they mention surgery I will definitely ask but I heard since their is a lymph node involved they would most likely choose radiation. We’ll see. Thanks

• Steve1961
    Steve1961 Member Posts: 519 Member
    Options