Newbie here. So glad to have found this!

Options
bigenna
bigenna Member Posts: 5 Member
edited December 2023 in Breast Cancer #1

It’s all just happening right now. Saw my doctor for inverted nipple/misshapen breast/twinges of pain in late October. One appointment with Breast doctor mid November, MAMMO followed by ultrasound same day. Dr went from - oh likely just cysts to scheduling core biopsy because looks like cancer. I get the core biopsy this afternoon then up to two weeks to discuss test results and come up with treatment plan. Two month whirlwind of emotions so far.

I’m so terrified of the procedure itself, never mind the possible outcomes. I’m told the numbing injections feel like a bee sting. Quick prick, little burning sensation, over quickly. Then I’ll be so numb the actual biopsy will not hurt.

From my experiences with hospital procedures these last years (colonoscopy , cystoscopy), anytime I hear the words “minimal pain” or “a little uncomfortable “ I now know I must have the lowest pain tolerance ever because it’s always far worse. I spent hours yesterday trying to get hold of my family doctor (no success - she is off until tomorrow) then talking to the breast health clinic to see if I could get conscious sedation for the procedure, but they do not offer that. I’m told that I can’t take Ativan prior to at least reduce the anxiety because I need to be able to sign consents. I have a couple of leftover Ativan that my Doctor gave me months ago when I was getting dental surgery and I said to the nurse that I still would be able to comprehend and she replied that what I was told is the official word. When I said that I could take one and just not mention it she replied, “there is that”. So my take is they won’t know if I don’t say anything.

Sorry for the long ramble - very glad for what everyone has shared and feel like I’m not alone.

Comments

• bigenna
    Options