New PC diagnosis

Options
Earls_dad
Earls_dad Member Posts: 5 Member
edited December 2023 in Prostate Cancer #1

I was just diagnosed with PC- PSA 4.98, Gleason 3+4 with 11/15 cores positive on biopsy with maximal Gleason 3+4 in 4 cores (3 targeted), 5% overall pattern 4. MRI indicated DIL (dominant intraprostatic lesion) in left post lateral PZ with 1mm ECE (extracapsular extension). I’m just beginning my journey to get educated but interested in this forum’s take on my treatment options. Both the urologist (surgeon) and radiation oncologist say my case is right down the middle in terms of viability of those 2 options. TIA for your perspectives!

Comments

• Old Salt
    Old Salt Member Posts: 1,327 Member
    Options

Yes, it will be a difficult decision. Without knowing more details it does seem like both options are reasonable. Why not consult with a highly rated prostate cancer center to get their insight on what is best for you?

In the meantime, keep studying. Among others, focus on what the ECE finding implies with respect to therapy.

• Earls_dad
    Options

Thanks. I’m in Seattle so working with the best urology surgeon in the Seattle area- my brother had successful RP performed by him 2 years ago with clean bill of health and no side effects. Both he and the radiation oncologist said I would probably have a good outcome with either option but curious if anyone on this site has experience with very small ECE on MRI and how that played into their treatment decision.

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 1,013 Member
    edited November 2023 #4
    Options

Hi,