tongue cancer

Options
Delora
Delora Member Posts: 2 Member

hi. I am new to this . I was diagnosed with tongue cancer in early August. 2023. I had surgery to remove a lesion of my tongue Sept. 14th. I am still, after almost three weeks, having a lot of pain on my tongue, especially when I eat (I lost weight and need to gain weight) I cannot toleratel meds so for now I just can take tylenol which does little to relieve the pain. I am not getting further treatments, since the cancerous growth was removed - just scans and followups in three months.

I feel OK, other than the pain which makes it difficult to eat.Has anyone had pain for so long after surgery?

I appreciate any advice or informtaion about this. thanks!

Comments

• wbcgaruss
    wbcgaruss Member Posts: 2,276 Member
    Options

Hello, Delora, and welcome to the CSN H&N discussion board. Sorry you have to be here but I hope you find the help you need.

I did a search and found this on the internet--

Pain will be present for at least 7-14 days following surgery, but it should improve around two weeks following surgery.

Also here is an article from Cedars Sinai--