Recommendations for Pain Meds (non-narcotic)

Options
ThisShallPass
ThisShallPass Member Posts: 5 Member
edited September 2023 in Head and Neck Cancer #1

Hello - I've found all your posts very helpful, and this is my first time posting. I have base of tonsil HPV+ SCC. I've had two surgeries, and I'm currently close to half-way through 35 radiation treatments (mix of proton and IMRT). No surprise, swallowing is starting to really hurt. I started Lyrica last week, but I don't think it has kicked in yet (besides making me drowsy and wobbly). I took gabapentin before and after my last surgery, but I know that takes time to ramp up too. Are there any other non-narcotic fast-acting prescription pain meds that any of you recommend I ask my doctor about? (I need to be able to drive to my appointments.) I'm taking Tylenol and ibuprofen already.

Thank you in advance!

Comments

• wbcgaruss
    wbcgaruss Member Posts: 2,276 Member
    Options

Hello, This, and welcome to the CSN H&N discussion support board.

You have certainly gone through a lot with 2 surgeries and being halfway done with follow-up radiation of 2 types Proton and IMRT. Sorry, you are starting to experience soreness pretty severely with swallowing, although it is part and parcel of this treatment scenario.

For pain, I have recently come across this combination mentioned either here or in another source I have read.

For Pain--

Ibuprofen and acetaminophen 3 pills each - we call it the combo and it really does relieve pains and aches.

There is also liquid over-the-counter pain relief also you might try--

There are 2 pain meds I was prescribed during treatment but I don't think they would work for you because of driving but you may ask your doctor.

1-Liquid Hydrocodone Hydrocodone bitartrate 10mg, acetaminophen 300mg; per 15mL; tropical fruit punch flavor; contains alcohol 7%.

And the other was a tablet-Oxycodone hydrochloride and Acetaminophen oral tablet, Amneal, 5 mg / 325 mg