What's is like after kidney removal

Options
kernal
kernal Member Posts: 5 Member
edited September 2023 in Kidney Cancer #1

Just told my left kidney has to come out due to a tumor. The only symptoms I've had is the usual blood in urine, fatigue, weight loss and slight back sensation. The actual description is: Left upper tract TCC. Discussed robot left neph-U. Recommend intravesical gemcitabine. The urologist didn't indicate that there was any spreading but he did say that they would put chemo in the bladder while they were taking out the kidney to be sure. Also I would have a bag for a few days.

Has anyone been through this and could tell me what recovery will be like so I can be somewhat prepared? Thanks

Comments

• eug91
    eug91 Member Posts: 471 Member
    Options

Hi Kernal,

I'm not a doctor, but it sounds like what you're describing is a combo urothelial/kidney cancer? If you haven't already, you might want to try asking in the Uterine Cancer forum about the chemo in the bladder and the bag.

As for recovery, everyone's healing process is different - depending on your age, overall health, and luck. But if you want to read about my radical robotic neph, it's in detail here- https://csn.cancer.org/node/318416

You've got this - you're going to do great!

• scabledog
    scabledog Member Posts: 17 Member
    Options