Chemo-resistant cancer mutation

Options
pik3r1
pik3r1 Member Posts: 8 Member

Hi folks, thanks for all the helpful info and support on this forum. I've been browsing occasionally since diagnosed with Stage IV endometrial cancer last year but this is my first time posting. I've been fortunate to have nothing observable since surgery, although it makes it weird fighting this invisible disease.

Anyhow, recently I've been looking at my tumor profiling report which lists the genetic mutations, one of which is ARID1A. Based on all everything I've read about it so far, cancers which have a loss of ARID1A function are generally resistant to the standard carbo-taxol treatment. This is one example which tries to explain it: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7199758/

It makes me feel a bit like screaming. Chemo isn't something that anyone would just do for fun--the pain, the lost time, the lingering side effects. It seems crazy that this is still the standard of care for cases where it's been shown to have minimal effect. I kind of understand how these things work but I just needed to express this somewhere. Thanks for listening.

Comments

• Forherself
    Forherself Member Posts: 966 Member
    Options