Newly Diagnosed Cancer Patients: Questions To Ask Your Health Care Team

Options
wbcgaruss
wbcgaruss Member Posts: 2,277 Member

BY Rosemary Catallo

Patients and their families often come into The Learning Center, where I work as a librarian, to seek information. After interacting with people for many years -- and from reviewing the large amount of information we have access to here --I've come to understand what information newly diagnosed patients and their families need.

Some patients are anxious if they don't have enough information. Other people get stressed or feel overwhelmed by too much information.

No matter which type of cancer patient you are, asking your health care team the right questions about your disease and cancer treatment can play an important part in managing your care.

I recommend the following basic questions for newly diagnosed cancer patients. Answers to these questions may allow you to feel less overwhelmed and better able to manage your cancer journey.

Just be sure to think about what you'd like to know right now, and tell your doctor if you would like a little information or a lot.

Cancer diagnosis

• What type of cancer do I have? What is my exact diagnosis?
  • Where is the cancer located? Has it spread?·
  • What is my prognosis?

Cancer staging

• What's the stage of my cancer?
  • What does this stage mean for my cancer treatment and prognosis?

Cancer treatment

• What are my treatment options?
  • Which treatment do you recommend and why?
  • What's the goal of my treatment?
  • What side effects does this treatment have?
  • How often will I have treatments? How long will they last?
  • How should I prepare for treatment?

Cancer research and clinical trials·

• What are clinical trials?
  • Are clinical trials an option for me?·
  • How can I learn more?

Cancer treatment side effects

• What are possible risks and side effects? What should I do to manage them?