How Particle Accelerators Are Used to Cure Cancer - with Simon Jolly

wbcgaruss
wbcgaruss Member Posts: 2,451 Member
edited April 2023 in Head and Neck Cancer #1

Hello fellow survivors. As a mechanic, I am always interested in what is behind the scenes, and what makes it work. If you are like me or just a person that likes informative videos and seeing amazing things you may be interested in this slightly less than one-hour video presented by Simon Jolly. It is of course about Proton Therapy which some of you may have had but this is an in-depth view. He starts out explaining the fundamentals of cancer and continues through to the proton machines, how they are made, and how they work and he keeps it interesting. It is the huge size and monetary investment and complex systems needed to make this a reality for cancer patients today that amazes me. This is an interesting video for the average person, techies, and mechanics alike. Proton therapy is used especially for head & neck cancer but also many other cancers and surprisingly a lot for children to avoid damage to developing young ones which is covered near the end for a real-life case of a little girl. Please take a look.

Take care, God Bless-Russ

Comments

• christos01
    christos01 Member Posts: 7 Member

Believe this is going to be standard care for head and neck cancer treatment. Had a chose to pursue photon in New York City. Just didn’t know if I could do the commute daily not knowing the side effects of my chemo. It would also need to approved by insurance and I felt I was running out time because they could t’ find the primary and I could see my lymph node increasing in size weekly. I’m doing IMRT VMAT currently. Would love to hear people’s experiences with proton.

Happy Easter, god bless

Christos

• christos01
    christos01 Member Posts: 7 Member

*choice I meant

• wbcgaruss
    wbcgaruss Member Posts: 2,451 Member