Nerve and throat pain after port surgery

llft
llft Member Posts: 3 Member
edited February 2023 in Colorectal Cancer #1

I had my port surgery over a week ago. My throat inside and on my neck is sore. My upper right back is sore with shooting nerve pain down to my elbow. When I raise my hand above my shoulder then I have pain from my elbow to my wrist.

Does anyone have a solution for the throat pain or nerve pain? I can't lay on my back for a minute let alone the 30 minutes necessary for my PET scan in 3 days.

Thoughts? Solutions?

Comments

• TFitz22
    TFitz22 Member Posts: 5 Member

Hi Lift,

I am new to the site and new to colorectal cancer having just been diagnosed in the last two weeks, so I’m no expert here. I’m sorry for both of us so we had to meet on this journey!

Like you, I had a port placed about a week and a half ago and was experiencing pain down my arm from it, just a general heaviness, deep pain. Of course, my primary concern was blood clots as I was scheduled for a colectomy a few days later. I visited with my oncologist and she she flushed and checked the port for me, ruling out the possibility of a blood clot, which put my mind at ease, but the pain persisted. They theorized that the pain was caused by my arm placement during surgery to implant it, and it would go away over time, which I am happy to report it did. But I can share with you a few things I learned from this experience.

I sought advice from others, who have been through the same ordeal, and they said that it’s possible the port could be resting on a nerve and suggested I reach out to the doc who performed the surgery and they could take an x-ray to check the placement. That’s what you should do if you haven’t already.