BC, Triple Positive - Newbie

Options
RachelP
RachelP Member Posts: 8 Member
edited January 2023 in Breast Cancer #1

Good Afternoon from Cleveland!

I am a newbie on this board. I had my first mammogram in July of 2022, as a prerequisite for breast reduction surgery - and it was negative.

By the grace of God, the pathology post reduction surgery showed what the mammogram didn't: Stage 1, Invasive Ductal Carcinoma - triple positive - right breast. The doctors were shocked it was even found, as breast reduction tissue is selected for removal at random while you are on the table, and the tumor was small, literally a few mm in another direction, and it would have raged on, undetected. As weird as it sounds, I am beyond grateful that it was caught - because without that surgery - I would have a different story to tell.

I opted for a bilateral mastectomy (non nipple sparing, it wasn't possible because of the prior surgery and proximity to the remnant of the original tumor) with immediate reconstruction for a couple reasons:

1) The answer to watching for cancer in the Left Breast was.... you guessed it.... a mammogram. For me, mentally, it just made sense to get the left one out at the same time. What if it happened again on the left side and then I had to go through all the treatment again - no thanks!

2) Symmetry. I like symmetry, even if it meant I had to lose the healthy breast. I didn't want a reminder on the left of what I went through. And I wanted them to match.

The BM was successful: Clean margins and Negative node. (only mapped to one node, which they had to remove for testing anyway). So I have escaped radiation treatment. I am finding out tomorrow what the chemo/herceptin schedule will be.