ISO Surgical Oncologist recommendations

Options
hillaryallen01
hillaryallen01 Member Posts: 10 Member
edited December 2022 in Colorectal Cancer #1

I'm looking for recommendations for a surgeon (or team of surgeons) for a friend of mine who has stage 4c CRC. He was expecting liver resection along with peritoneum surgery next month but they found new lymph node mets and just informed him they won't proceed with the surgery now. Can anyone recommend anywhere we should reach out to for a second opinion? Seems like he needs the liver resection and HIPEC but I'm a little new to this so maybe HIPEC is not necessary (was not part of the original plan and I assume theres a good reason for that). Send me names, please and thank you.

Comments

• sgold88
    sgold88 Member Posts: 81 Member
    Options

Where are you located?

you may want to get several/many second opinions. Ask enough surgeons their opinion and perhaps one will take a shot at it.

• hillaryallen01
    Options

Thank you for the response! We're on the west coast (U.S.) Traveling is an option though. Someone else suggested asking about SBRT or other possible treatments in the mean time which was also encouraging. There's so much information out there to sift through, so I really appreciate the collective wisdom in this discussion board!

• sgold88
    edited December 2022 #4
    Options

I don’t know much about SBRT. You’re best bet could be going to a broad, full service comprehensive camcer Center like MSK in NY or MD Andersen in Houston which are large but if you want equally good but without the massive city based machine, I suggest Roswell park in Buffalo. We had a great experience there. . They can do a full analysis and recommend a treatment. I would focus first to on a second opinion before chasing SBRT or any other kind of treatment.