A new battle

Options
Logan51
Logan51 Member Posts: 464 Member
edited December 2022 in Head and Neck Cancer #1

We all know what going thru H&N tx is like- a 2-month battle that drags on as long afterwards.

A thought occurred to me with where I'm at now, almost 13-1/2 years since my last Rad session: first there was the battle of going thru treatment, and now there's the battle of dealing with the long term side-effects of C Radiation tx and compromised quality of life.

I've been Feeding Tube-dependent since 8/6/2019 because of what the Rads did to the top 1/3rd of my esophagus, which was collateral damage; and, near as I can tell, over the last +/- 6-years I've been dealing with the gradual growth of scar tissue and paralysis with my larynx folds that, in July of 2020, I was told I only have about 20% of a normal air passage in my windpipe, and the ENT Drs. are leaving it up to me on when I want a trachea tube installed.

I have been lucky not having to deal with Osteoradionecrosis and jaw replacement, knock on wood, but the bottom line is: first, there's the treatment battle to get rid of the C, and then down the road there will be a new battle to deal with the treatment's debilitating Rad damage for some of us. All cases are different, of course, and I was treated by the "Local Locos" in early 2009 instead of a cutting-edge University team more recently, and hope your long term survival leaves you in a lot better shape than I'm experiencing.

Perhaps I'm just doing a bit of a vent, but the long term issues of tx are something everyone should talk to their C team about.

Comments

• wbcgaruss
    wbcgaruss Member Posts: 2,276 Member
    Options