Post chemo port insertion

Options
LightningMcQueen
LightningMcQueen Member Posts: 3 Member
edited June 2022 in Breast Cancer #1

Hello, I'm new to this world of breast cancer.

I was diagnosed with cancer in my left breast and left lymph node on March 31, 2022. I am also a lightning strike survivor. My anniversary of survival will be 5 years in July. I have multiple lasting side effects which have made the journey for recovery quite challenging.

I have been trying to fight the cancer naturally, but have also opted to follow on oncologists suggestions of chemo, surgery, radiation, and immune therapy. Most of the possible side effects of the chemo and radiation I already deal with on a daily basis and have found vitamins and supplements to help ease some of the symptoms. Pain level is usually a 4/5 daily, but increases with exertion. I only take OTC pain med when pain gets too much as needed.

I just had the chemo port inserted this past Thursday (6/9/22). The surgery went very well without any complications. I wasn't prepared for the pain I would have after the anesthetic wore off. It feels like I'm being punched in the throat every time I cough and pain increases as I attempt to do things around the house. I spoke with nurse today she said each person is different but to give it up to two weeks to allow my body to adjust.

I'm wondering how long it takes to get used to? I understand that my circumstance is quite unordinary, but is the lasting pain normal with the chemo port? Please advise. Thank you.

"Lightning McQueen"😉

Comments

• aleli42
    aleli42 Member Posts: 1 Member
    Options

Hello I had the same as well as lupus so for me the pain was the whole time I had the port.. I recently had my surgery and healing is taking longer then normal as I have lupus.. the spot where rhe port was still hurts

• KT_Skater
    KT_Skater Member Posts: 5 Member
    Options