Just Got Diagnosed

Options
bloomschool
bloomschool Member Posts: 8 Member
edited July 2022 in Prostate Cancer #1

Hello everyone,

I am 70, in generally good health according to blood tests. Had a Prostate MRI, now scheduled for a Biopsy. My PSA went from about 4.5 a year ago to 6.5 this year (2022) then jumped to 7.3 in a matter of a few months. Here is MRI radiology report summary:

"IMPRESSION: Overall PI-RADS 4: Clinically significant prostate cancer likely at the apical periurethral peripheral zone."

The nurse told me not to worry as sometimes upon biopsy, it turns out to be prostate inflammation.

Since I'm new to all this, I am wondering what it all means? Is an MRI radiology report accurate or not? Do I have prostate cancer, or could it in fact, be inflammation or something else?

And how fast does PCa spread?

How to proceed? Just follow and trust Urologist recommendations or perhaps seek out CyberKnife, etc?

Many thanks!

Comments

• Clevelandguy
    Clevelandguy Member Posts: 1,017 Member
    Options

Hi,

The only time you can get a definite cancer diagnosis id with a biopsy. MRI’s detect suspicious areas that an experienced diagnostician might determine is cancer but not definite without the biopsy. After the biopsy your Urologist will grade your cancer as to it’s aggressive nature. 3 being not very aggressive and 5 being really aggressive. BPH(Prostate inflammation) can raise your PSA number if you have that condition. Time to wait until after you have your biopsy before you start discussing treatment protocols. If you do have cancer you will want to also consult a radiation Oncologist for their prospective. Second opinions from a different doctor and hospital network is a good idea depending on your trust in your current doctors.

Dave 3+4

• bloomschool
    Options

Thanks Dave! This helps me quite a bit in getting some perspective on this situation.

• Rob.Ski
    Rob.Ski Member Posts: 145 Member
    Options