Immediate PSA rise after rad prostatectomy and salvage radiation

Options
brooksgnm
brooksgnm Member Posts: 6 Member
edited April 2022 in Prostate Cancer #1

Hello. I completed salvage radiation on Jan 29 of this year and rather than going down from .226 when I began the IMRT radiation, the PSA went up to .503 when checked on April 14. Does this mean complete failure of the radiation treatments? I have not had any androgen therapy, just the prostatectomy. My PSA was 0 after surgery but began to go up about 8 months after surgery. Gleason 9, pT3b, no lymph nodes, no positive margins, but seminal vesicle invasion. I cannot find anything on line other than it can take awhile for the radiation to work.. Thanks, Gary

Comments

• J69
    J69 Member Posts: 35 Member
    Options

Brooks, I am not a doctor, but I’m surprised you haven’t started ADT yet. I only had IMRT for my GL-8, but my urologists immediately put me on ADT. I would think by now your PSA should have decreased not gone up, although for some it does take up to six months after radiation to see results. I would get with your Uro and see about adding ADT. Again, I am not a doctor.

• brooksgnm
    Options

Thanks for the comment., How have your side effects been from the ADT? Both myself and my urologist were not anxious to begin it until we see what effect the radiation had. He considers ADT palliative care, meaning it is not a cure, just knocks it back for a bit.

• Old Salt
    Old Salt Member Posts: 1,345 Member
    Options

Sad to say, but it appears that your cancer had metastasized, perhaps even before the surgery.

Presumably there were scans before the surgery; what did they show (or not show)?

Any scans after the surgery, prior to the radiation?

I would recommend discussing a PMSA scan with a medical oncologist. If a cancerous locus can be identified, perhaps it can be irradiated. But there is little doubt in my mind that you will also need some sort of ADT, or chemo.

• brooksgnm
    Options