Some Good News - I Finally Graduated College!!!

Options
minicoops
minicoops Member Posts: 21 Member
edited March 2022 in Breast Cancer #1

So I FINALLY graduated college!! And hopefully one day soon I will beat cancer and can say I graduated at the same time!

I was a full time student from 2010-2014. I dropped out when I only had 28 credits left. I realized in that moment I needed to focus on my health. After a year, I decided to go to work full time. In 2019 I decided to go back to school while still working. I worked my butt off to finish those classes.

Then I’m finally working on my senior thesis in 2021. It was going well. 2 weeks shy of my graduation date, I got diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer. I had decided that the semester would end in an incomplete since I needed to start chemotherapy and focus on my health. I decided to continue working on it at my own pace in hopes of graduating this semester.

After talking with my professor, showing him my work, etc I finally have enough work to pass! So I have officially graduated with a bachelors degree in Religious Studies and a minor in art!

I am hoping that this will help me get a job after cancer. I am also hoping that my story can give others hope that anything is possible! I can’t wait for commencement and am proud of my accomplishment and not giving up!

Comments

• Christy001
    Christy001 Member Posts: 7 Member
    Options

Congratulations! That is marvelous! I was an English teacher at a couple of Universities and loved teaching.

Would you feel comfortable sharing the topic of your senior thesis? Not for discussion, but just as a further acknowledgment of your accomplishment?