Bras for support after mastectomy with breast expanders

smallbutmighty
smallbutmighty Member Posts: 5 Member

I am new to this sisterhood, recently diagnosed and had double mastectomy surgery On Jan 12th, 2022. I had reconstruction surgery at the same time and have the beast expanders. I got my drains out a few days ago, and I had a tegaderm dressing removed that was put on right after surgery. I was a 34 B size prior to surgery. I am disappointed in the hospital system's lack of aftercare with regard to what I should be wearing now to provide support and comfort. My reconstructive surgeon had three pictures of bras I could order on amazon, all of which had really mixed reviews, some of which were really bad. one of them is basically a sports bra, which I would think would be too much compression, but I really don't know. That was the extent of any assistance I have received. My oncology surgeon was pretty much out of the picture after surgery and spending about five minutes with me at a follow up appointment a week after surgery. My medical oncologist said I could try a wide ace bandage, which seems pretty lame. I have a friend in another state who had a place connected to their cancer center that she could go to and they fit her. The only place anywhere near me I could find just had bras for people who are post mastectomy without reconstruction. I am looking for help from people who have been through this. I am having the most discomfort after I have been asleep for about three or four hours, and am really hoping that getting something to provide support might help. Otherwise I will remain exhausted, as I am averaging about three or four hours sleep a night. Any insights, recommendations, would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• DC2
    DC2 Member Posts: 2 Member

Hello Smallbutmighty,