Newbie here - sharing my story

Options
98rkrider
98rkrider Member Posts: 6 Member
edited April 2022 in Prostate Cancer #1

I don't know if any will find this useful, nevertheless, I thought I would share.

Early in 2021 a digital exam of the prostate by my GP led to a visit with a urologist. PSA was 40+ and scans revealed Metastatic Prostate cancer. It had spread throughout my bones and a small amount into the lymph system. Time to cowboy-up!

I was told that they would not remove the prostate since the CA was too far advanced. I had my gonads removed to starve the CA of the testosterone that was feeding it's growth. Moved on to an oncologist that had significant experience treating Prostate CA. He offered a chemical (Abiraterone) to further starve the Prostate of testosterone or a chemotherapeutic called Docetaxel.

I chose the Docetaxel which was to be taken every three weeks for a total of eight doses. Unfortunately, I am one of those that had severe reaction to the Docetaxel. After 4 doses the oncologist refused to give me a fifth dose stating that I would not survive a fifth dose. We switched to Abiraterone 750mg every day. It took a while to recover from the Docetaxel's side effects, though the peripheral neuropathies are still present with some days worse than others.

Last week my PSA has, as of now, dropped to 0.3, yahoo. Recent scans show a marked decline in bone involvement and no lymph node involvement.

Compared to where I was 11 months ago I am very pleased. I go to work every day and still enjoy most everything I did before. Fatigue seems to be the most irritating ongoing factor. I will turn 70yo in May of 2022 and am looking forward to riding my Harley from the Idaho panhandle down to Southern Arizona and New Mexico this coming summer to visit my brothers.

My faith in God has remained strong throughout this challenge and I give a big tip of the hat to my extraordinary wife for standing alongside me every step of the way.

Comments

• Old Salt