Nasopharyngeal Cancer Recurrence

Options
Bay Area Guy
Bay Area Guy Member Posts: 618 Member

Hi. I’m a resident of the kidney cancer board, but I’m here for my brother-in-law. He was diagnosed and treated for stage 4A nasopharyngeal cancer in 2009-10. His treatment was targeted radiation five times a week and chemo (not sure of the drug) once a month. Both lasted three months and he has been cancer free since. He called today that at the latest ENT appointment, they found something in that area and he’ll be getting an MRI Friday afternoon. I have a few questions and I have always stayed away from Dr Google since, during my bout with kidney cancer, I found hugely conflicting information.

So, how likely is it that this form recurs after 11+ years of no evidence of disease?

Has the treatment protocol changed at all in those intervening years?

Are their surgical approaches or drug therapies available that were not even conceived of back then?

Thanks for any information you can provide.

Comments

• wbcgaruss
    wbcgaruss Member Posts: 2,294 Member
    Options

Although not familiar personally with this exact type of cancer.

Is recurrence common? I would not think it is a common thing and happens a lot considering effective treatments today and even when he had them done. I have not heard of recurrences being more for one cancer or another and I think a lot of that just depends on your genes other than shoddy treatment where they miss cancer cells and if that would be the case he would have had an issue sooner than 11 years out. I think in his case if there is cancer it may just be new cancer not necessarily a recurrence but could be either.