Nearly at the end so far - UPDATE

Tueffel
Tueffel Member Posts: 327 Member
edited July 2020 in Colorectal Cancer #1

Hello guys,

I hope you are doing good. My dads cancer journey is heading to an end soon and it was not always easy but the things ahead of us might be easier than the surgeries.

So my dad is doing fine. His left colon was removed and they got everything out. CT shows no signs of cancer anymore and my dad is getting slowly better. After the surgery his surgeon called to inform us that everything went good. I asked him a lot of specific questions after he was asking why I know so much stuff. He seemed to be really relived to explain medical things just like he learned after I told him I am a med student. It was funny :)

Unfortunately my dad needed to go back to the hospital after he was home for 48 hours. He had fever. My dad was so mad that he needed to go back to the hospital. They found a wound infection but they thought this wound infection was too small to cause the symptoms. So they checked everything because during weekend they apparently have nothing to do. My dad got a CT with and without contrast, x ray, USG and they found nothing. So our family doctor is sure that the wound caused the fever. Papa got antibiotics and got home again. 

Now my dad is home for 5 days. His appetite is increasing and he does not need to take any medications. My dad needed to take painkillers and had even 2 years ago pain from the colon. We learned that the tumor invaded the nerve sheath and that caused the symptoms but it is gone now.

Only bad thing is that he needs to pee a lot now without really emptying the bladder with sometimes some pain... I am worried that it is the next cancer but then he got checked just a week ago with everything so possible the prostate.