R Chop help

Hello, I’m new to this page as it’s hard for me to reach out.

To give some background I was diagnosed in 2006 with follicular non Hodgkin’s lymphoma. I was doing watch and wait until 2018 when a cluster of lymph nodes under my right arm pit got bigger and bigger and I had a lymphoma mass in my left eye socket.  I had radiation on my eye socket and went through 6 months of Rituxan and Bendeka. I was in remission until January 2020 when a small spot was found in my abdomen. The small spot is now a 2 inch in diameter spot in my abdomen that located up against my aortic artery. A ct guided biopsy was done and it is my non Hodgkin’s lymphoma. Today my oncologist discussed R chop treatment followed by a stem cell transplant at Mayo Clinic. I started reading about r chop and stem cell transplants on the internet. I feel like I’ve suddenly been given a death sentence. Can someone give me information on the effects these two treatments have on your body. And are they effectiv. I cannot quit crying tonight. Thanks. 

Comments

• PBL
    PBL Member Posts: 366 Member
    edited April 2020 #2
    No need to cry!

Hi,

There is really no particular reason to feel so scared. R-CHOP is standard first- or second-line treatment for NHL, and has been for many years. It is extremely efficient against lymphoma, and you will find plenty of patients to testify on that.

I myself have follicular NHL (diagnosed in 2016) and was treated with R-CHOP followed by two years of Rituximab immunotherapy. I have been in remission since then, and, as my hematologist says, the PRIMA study results give me a 50% chance of still being in remission in 2026.