Post hormone and brachytherapy

DztBlk
DztBlk Member Posts: 5
edited March 2020 in Prostate Cancer #1

Hi

Newbie here!  I am 6 months post last luepron shot to treat my prostate cancer.  Like many, you think that's not going to happen to me. I should have known better. I lost my first cousin at 39 to metatstatic breast cancer and my best friend at 44 to metastatic breast cancer 3 months apart.  To give a little history, I am 49.  I was diagnosed at 47 with prostate cancer and a gleason score of 9.  I am something of a statistic, though many primary care doctors seem unaware.  I am or was fairly young and African-American.  The advice is to test us early, especially if there is a family history.  I could not provide any family history to my providers.  However, after spontaneously losing 25 pounds and not having much of an appetite,I went in for a physical.  I asked to have a PSA done because of a health fair I attended where a physician encouraged men like myself (AA with known family history or lack of family history in general) to get tested because if it hits, it tends to hit early and hard.  The first primary care provider (PCP) I visited simply refused to do it.  Thank goodness I was persistent and went to my old PCP who was reluctant, but ordered the test. My PSA came back at 35 and never decreased after several followup tests.  To make a long story short, I had 3 different scans (including an expriemental one all indicated it was still contained in my prostate THANK GOODNESS), a few panic attacks, some tears, and a failed prostatectomy because it was so inflamed the surgeon (one of the best UCLA) was afraid I would end up with a colostomy.  I underwent brachytherapy, external radiation, and hormone therapy. So far, post treatments my PSA has been along the lines of 0.1.  So, I'm lucky at this point.  I worry because he was not able to remove the prostate.  However, the same awareness that got me through the process still applies, which is be in the moment.