Husband newly diagnosed......so scared !

PipLily
PipLily Member Posts: 127 Member

Hello everyone! New to this forum and wanting to check in. My husband, 60, was just told on Thursday that the Cervical lymph Node biopsy he had done on Tuesday is positive for Squamous cell cancer. The general surgeon also said the pathologist noted it to be positive for HPV. I am beyond afraid right now....really in panic mode to be honest, although I’m trying to not let my husband see that at all. The unfortunate thing is that  I’m also a nurse, so I know too much about too little =) He woke up about a week and a half ago with a swollen lump on his neck; CT next day showed that node being abnormal with necrosis, and a smaller second one beside or behind it....can’t remember. Scheduled biopsy, and here we are. I’m already fifty step ahead in my mind, and am so afraid of so many things. What if it’s in his liver or lungs?

I have literally spent hours and hours, day and night, googling EVERY possibility, until I stumbled upon this wonderful site, and now have spent countless hours reading here. I’m thinking this is going to be a Godsend in the months ahead. We have an initial consultation in Chicago/ Northwestern......anyone have experience with that? Their cancer center is #10 in nation, however, not necessarily ENT. Last night I looked in his mouth and he has a tiny white spot on his upper gumline,,,,,I wish I would’ve not looked, because now I’m thinking “what if it’s everywhere....tonsils, gums, etc “!?? I know this sounds like the rambling of a crazy woman....that’s how I feel! I’m not sure how Im going to eat or sleep before our appointment this next Friday with ENT.