Severe Allergic reaction to Oxaliplatin - I almost died!

Options
2»

Comments

• gmtexas
    gmtexas Member Posts: 13 Member
    Options

Good day Joan, I am new to CSN and noticed your original post, January 24, 2020. I hope and pray things have gone well these last several months... you deserve positive news regarding your cancer. You referenced the Phase 2 clinical trial, sponsored by Bayer, with their chemo drug Regorafenib and BMS' immuno drug Nivolumab (Opdivo) as a potential treatment at Mayo Clinic. I understand that this Phase 2 clinical trial ended December of 2021. If you participated, my hope is you received a positive response. If you and your oncologist team chose another treatment, then I hope the treatment you chose went well. To you and all late stage colorectal cancer patients, let's continue to reset the clock (stay alive), while new treatments come to life.

• OnTheRoad
    OnTheRoad Member Posts: 31 Member
    Options

I had my first 12 sessions of Folfox in 2018 and had 12 rounds back again late last year and early this year.

On this year, on the 2nd or 3rd infusion I also started to fell very odd and started to present some of the symptoms mentioned here. Feeling of throat trying to close, I got itchy all around my body, started to get really red on my chest and face, etc... The doctors were fast and gave me medicine immediately, so I recovered in about 30 minutes.

The outcome is that my infusion time was increased to 4 hours and I had to take several different antialergic medicines, starting 2 days before chemo, at each session. With the antialergic medicines and extension of the infusion time, I was able to finalize all 12 rounds of chemo without feeling the symptoms mentioned above.

My onc said creating alergy for Oxaliplatin is not rare and that some people are simply not able to continue having Oxaliplatin, so they move to another chemo solution - or simply remove Oxaliplating from the chemo treatment.

• IAMCCC