Husband will not accept diagnosis

pickleandtwins
pickleandtwins Member Posts: 1

I'll preface this by saying that I am new to cancer and have been fortunate not to have any experience with cancer. Until January 2019 when the opthamologist found an orange sized brain tumor in my husband. He had a crainiotomy almost immediately after finding the tumor. They were not able to remove the full tumor and left a grape sized tumor there because it is located near a lot of really important blood vessels and there are too many risks in removing it.  During the surgery there were some complications and now has a left field cut and has permenant tunnel vision. He'll never be able to drive again. He also has been dealing with short term memory loss and other issues. The independance that he once had is now gone.

This week he started radiation 5 times a week for 6 weeks. We also finally saw the neuro-oncologist. Until that time we hadn't been told that the tumor was cancerous. I think each of the Dr.'s assumed that we knew. I had a feeling but my husband confessed when we were in the office that he didn't even know that an oncologist is a cancer Dr.  So she was very clear in telling my husband that he has brain cancer but he won't listen. Has anyone dealt with this? I am left to tell our kids (18, 18 & 20), family and friends what is going on but he turns around and tells them that I am wrong.  

Comments

• GingerMay
    GingerMay Member Posts: 134
    Not accepting

So sorry for what you are going through. I sometimes think it's just so overwhelming that it is hard to grasp and indeed does not feel real.  Probably especially true if there were no symptoms and it was found suddenly. Really, it must be someone else's life.