Aremidex & Lupron shot vs. Tamoxifen

a4runnergrl
a4runnergrl Member Posts: 1

Aremidex & Lupron shot vs. Tamoxifen
I am 38, pre-menopausal and had a DMX on June 8th. I had lobular BC (hormone positive, HER2-) in my left breast with clear nodes. My oncologist has given me the above two options for my hormone blocker. Has anyone chosen the Aremidex vs. Tamoxifen. I am leaning towards that due to it having less side effects, but I don't really want to start menopause so early. Oh, I also have the ATM and PALB2 gene mutation.
Hit me with the good, bad and ugly.

Comments

• Catholic
    Catholic Member Posts: 86
    edited July 2018 #2
    I am not a doctor.  I am a

I am not a doctor.  I am a caregiver to my wife who took tamoxifen.  I dont know anything about aremidex.

Tamoxifen, in my opinion, is poison.  My wife was diagnosed with breast cancer (her2-positive).  She took tamoxifen
    and literally slept most of the day.  She probably slept 16 hours a day and was awake
    for 8 hours.  She said she couldnt taste anything and so I made her soup and bread almost every day.  If you go online and
    search for tamoxifen, there are websites that talk about the possibility of it causing cancer.  I would argue that the big
    side effects of tamoxifen are wild mood swings (my wife went from passive to super aggressive in seconds), depression,
    and massive fatigue (she slept all the time day).  

As a caregiver, I am kinda of bitter toward all of chemotherapy.  Maybe chemotherapy is effective.   But I read articles
    like this

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/ny-breast-cancer-chemo-study-20180603-story.html

that came out in early 2018 that said many women can avoid chemotherapy and still beat cancer.  In my opinion,
    chemotherapy is a business and business was brisk.  I would drive my wife to the clinic and it was packed with people.
    The oncologist only gave us one option which was chemotherapy.  Maybe its effective, but 2 years since chemotherapy