Jury Duty ... really?

Wedgeworth
Wedgeworth Member Posts: 4

Hello, I am Wedgworth and this is my first time at this forum. I am very stressed out at getting a jury summons to

begin in a couple of weeks. I have served on a jury (a criminal trial that lasted several weeks and three times on grand jury), so

I have never shirked my "civic duty." Right now I don't have the energy for it and want my doctor to write me an excuse. I was

told today he probably won't do it. I am back at work after recovery from the hystrectomy and debulking surgery and eight cycles

of chemo. I have just enough stamina to go to work and come home. No overtime. I am sixty-five and can't afford to retire.  I sometimes feel I am expected to push myself

as if I didn't spend the past sixth months coping with stage 4 ovarian cancer while working.  I would

just like to find out if anyone has any tips or insights as to how to cope with this jury duty thing? Thank you.

Comments

• LorettaMarshall
    LorettaMarshall Member Posts: 662 Member
    Wedgeworth~Seems your doc lacks compassion~shame on him :(

Dear Wedgeworth ~

Knowing what it is like to have a hysterectomy, debulking surgery, and having just finished my 4th cycle of chemotherapy, I know exactly how you feel.  Each time I finish a cycle, I am weaker than I was before.  I never regain my “full energy” back.  And with a Stage IV Ovarian cancer diagnosis, I am not worrying about a “recurrence” because my cancer is never completely wiped out.  With God’s help, I’ve been “coping” with this cancer since November of 2012.  I’m glad to be alive, but only another cancer patient can fully “appreciate” it when you say, “I’m tired.”