Tongue reconstruction with free radial forearm flap after hemiglossectomy

Options
utfandg
utfandg Member Posts: 6
edited July 2018 in Head and Neck Cancer #1

I had 50% of my tongue removed and replaced with a radial forearm flap. The surgery is extensive. I was in ICU for 12 days due to an infection in my neck. My main question is how long did it take for the free flap swelling to go down in order to completely close your mouth therefore increasing the ability to eat. I will be at week three on 4/25/18. I am drinking water. I am feeding with a peg tube currently. I am unable to start trying to eat with the current swelling.

My background is fighting tongue cancer for 23 years and I am currently 58.

Comments

• Alpinelife
    Alpinelife Member Posts: 12
    Options
    Similar Situation

Had the same operation (60% of tongue removed), wrist in mouth trick, as well as a modified radical neck dissection. It took me about a month to be able to eat soft foods and about another 3 weeks for most other foods. Post chemo and radiation had much more impact on eating, but that’s another story. Just accept that you can adapt to a new normal - life can be good again, just a bit different. 

• utfandg
    utfandg Member Posts: 6
    Options

Similar Situation

Had the same operation (60% of tongue removed), wrist in mouth trick, as well as a modified radical neck dissection. It took me about a month to be able to eat soft foods and about another 3 weeks for most other foods. Post chemo and radiation had much more impact on eating, but that’s another story. Just accept that you can adapt to a new normal - life can be good again, just a bit different. 

Couple other questions

Thanks. I will not have chemo and radiation at this time. I had both back in 2010. I did have to have the three bottom molars pulled for this procedure. Any issues with arm like strength and mobility? Any issues with hair growing on your new tongue? 

• Alpinelife
    Alpinelife Member Posts: 12