How to Drive/Ride in Car with Radiation Burns?

Kim Gaia
Kim Gaia Member Posts: 73

Trying to troubleshoot some problems in advance. Would it be excruciating to sit in a car seat as driver or passenger for a 2-hour ride twice a week while undergoing chemo-radiation treatment for this cancer? Is there any way to make sitting for that length of time more bearable? Some special gel cushion or maybe a super soft down pillow? My treatments will be out of town, requiring a 2-hour drive every Monday morning, and same drive back home for weekend every Friday afternoon. (The cancer lodge I will be staying at away from home closes on the weekends.) Friends have offered to drive me, and there is also a special bus for this. But I would prefer to have the independence of having my own vehicle with me when I am away from home, and it seems to me the problem is the same whether I am a passenger or a driver.

Did some of you find you could ride in a vehicle okay throughout this treatment? Thanks!

kim

Comments

• eihtak
    eihtak Member Posts: 1,473 Member
    Kim...

Hi,

As you know, everyone reacts differently so its tough to say how another will feel...but its a pretty sure call that you'll be sore. I usually sat on a fluffy soft pillow with a satin pillow case. I found the silky pillow case made the turn to get in or out of the car so much easier. (Or any chair for that matter) Once situated I was usually ok, but the turn or movement to reposition is what I remember being the most painful. I did not drive myself after a few weeks because I was just too weak and the fatique had really hit me (so best not to be the behind the wheel). Also, I was taking oxycontin on a regular schedule...something to consider if you need as it did really take the edge off, but again, not too cool for driving!

Go with the silky pillowcase though...you'll be glad you did!

katheryn

• Kim Gaia
    eihtak said:

Kim...

Hi,