Options
2»

Comments

• wanttofeelgood
    wanttofeelgood Member Posts: 10
    edited June 2018 #22
    Options
    PET CT report

Thanks, Katheryn and Moxie.  I will pray for both of you too.

We don't know how long Mom will be in the "transitiional care" hospital.  Will they kick her out abruptly too?  We don't know.  She had a better day yesterday but is still in 24/7 BURNING EXCRUCIATING PAIN.  The doctor is giving her 15 mg morphine and Tylenol, gabapentin, Colace, etc.  Sometimes the morphine helps a little with her pain, sometimes not at all.  We talked for hours on the phone yesterday before and after my closing shift.  There was some blood in her stool.  She bleeds from her privates, probably from the fistula.

I need to share that I'm studying my Mom's PET CT report more, starting online research of words used in the report.  I wish I had asked for it two months ago (she got it in April).  I know I need doctors, etc. to help us navigate this.  Mom doesn't have a primary care physician, GYN, etc.  So far I'm understanding that Mom has cancer of the anus and rectum (intense hypermetabolism and wall thickening), the type of cancer, I beiieve it originated in her anus, it may have/probably invaded the fat surrounding her anus and rectum, she has a suspected rectovaginal fistula, she may or may not have anterior perianal fluid that can't be clearly seen on the PET CT (I didn't look that up yet so I don't know what that means), she has nonspecific 1 cm bilateral inguinal lymph nodes with only low-grade uptake that may be inflammatory and they cannot rule out metastasis (she told me she has pain in her groin), focal hypermetabolism within central aspect of her uterus (she's not on hormone replacement therapy for quite a while so not considered normal-they recommend pelvic ultrasound or MRI), activity along right frontal scalp that may be inflammatory (correlate with physical examination).