Weakness in lower body, pain when standing from sitting position.

Options

Hello Ladies,  I'm new to this Discussion Board...and have a question with regard to the stiffness, sore muscles and very weak legs and ankles I'm experiencing lately.  I had utertine cancer in May, 2016 with a total hysterectomy that August and treatment beginning that September.  I had Stage 1b, grade 3 and the 6 lymph nodes were clear of any cancer as well as the wide margins.  I was told I needed 6 rounds of chemo...starting off with 3, then 25 exterior radiation treatments followed by 3 internal radiation and finally 3 more chemo treatments...I quit taking chemo after the 5th one having gotten so sick after the 4th one, I ended up in the ER twice and then admiited overnight to restore my fluids and magnesium level.

I'm just wondering if this pain I am in...the weakness in my lower body and the struggles I have getting up and down...and my ankles are so weakened now...is common amongst cancer patients who've had radiation in the pelvic area...and of course chemo throughout their entire body.

I read symptoms of fibromyalgia and rheumatoid arthritis and they both could be the culprit but I wanted to rule out the treatments first...or at least see if anyone else has any suggestions as to what it could be.  I see my radiation oncologist next week and I'm prepared to ask about it and what I can be doing or taking to ease my discomfort.  I can't afford physical therapy right now...but I am trying to do stretches and muslce building exercises to try and ease the stiffness.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Suzanne In NEPA

Comments

• NoTimeForCancer
    NoTimeForCancer Member Posts: 3,369 Member
    Options
    Welcome SurvivorSunzanne.