foot/palm pain on xeloda

Hi, eveyone.

I'm new to all of this--so apologies in advance if this topic has already been covered elsewhere. My brother just stated Xeloda and radiation tx for Stage 2 colorectal ca. He's having a tough time with the pins/needles feeling from xeloda, especially to soles of feet. I suggested he visit your website, but he's not really open to sharing in an online forum. We don't live close geographically, and his doc didn't specify whether his stage 2 is 2a, 2b, or 2c or 2becontinued.... Not sure if brother just didn't know enough to ask, or if doctor just doesn't share info. I'm a hep c survivor, and know from experience the patient can't just "trust the doc" implicitly: personal responsibility demands education and active involvement, if one wants the best possible outcome.

Anyway, any suggestions for alleviating some of the Xeloda sides would be appreciated.

keefer

Comments

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    Welcome to the forum

We have many folks posting here on behalf of their loved ones, so we welcome you and look forward to helping you help your brother. 

The tingling in hands and feet is a sign that neuropathy is starting. Neuropathy can get out of hand very quickly and become permanent if allowed to get out of control. 

My suggestion to you would be to let your brother know that he MUST talk to his Oncologist about the side effects (all of them, not just the neuropathy) at EVERY visit. 

If the neuropathy is getting out of hand, then the dosage on his Xeloda should be lowered.  That is what the Oncologist is there for, to make adjustments to treatment, so that the patient gets the required dose to work on the Cancer, without causing long-lasting disability. 

There are definitely MANY Cancer patients out there who do not wish to know what their staging is. I actually read about a study and I was quite shocked at the results, being one who wants to know everything.