Newbie Here

Options

My husband was diagnosed with throat cancer the end of October. He wi start his 4th week of radiation and his 2nd chemo tomorrow. He has a lot of mouth pain but hasn’t started pain meds yet. We will ask for those tomorow. How much worse can I expect his pain to get over the next four weeks?  And should I expect he’all need a feeding tube?  He does not want one. Any help you can offer is greatly appreciated. Thanks. 

Comments

• christine2080
    christine2080 Member Posts: 71
    Options
    4th week

Welcome to the site! This site was (& is) an invaluable resource to me as my husband went through treatment & recovery (SSC BOT HPV+ stage 4 ). He went through 35 radiations beginning October 4 & 7 Cetuximab chemos. He completed treatment November 21. From our experience week 4 seemed when it all intensified. That was about when he stopped eating and was only drinking one Ensure per day. He ended up losing 35 pounds (15 put on in anticipation of treatment). He managed to avoid the feeding tube, but we always considered it an option. His neck got really bad - it looked like 3rd degree burns and was very painful. He had no energy and pretty much slept on the sofa if he wasn’t getting treatment. This site really helped me know which meds and creams to request from our doctors. My husband also had nausea.

• Mavish
    Mavish Member Posts: 85 Member
    Options
    Hi DShaw,

I am sorry that you are here. I am 18 mo off the treatment. I started taking pain medication on my 3rd or 4th week. My doctor prescribed me Liquid morphine and encourage d me to use it. I also took Tylenol and Advil to keep the morphine dose as low as posibble. I rejected PEG. I took morphine about 30 min before meals to ease the pain. I also used a prescription mouth wash consisting of Xylocaine to numb my mouth before meals.