Stage IV Colon Cancer Remission Stories, Please?

Hello, I had posted in the anal cancer forum, and they suggested I come here as well:

My dad was diagnosed with Stage IV Colon Cancer in June.

He was complaining of indigestion and pain in his stomach till we dragged him to the ER. After a CAT Scan, they saw a mass in his colon (the tie between the small and large colon-I'm not very good with medicine stuff). They also saw some "spots" in his liver. He had surgery to remove the tumor as it was obstructing the colon (the size of a can soda-my poor dad). It tested as cancer with 7 out of 21 lymph nodes compromised. The doc said (at first) that he had three small spots (largest one was 3mm) in his liver. After recuperating from surgery four weeks later, an MRI discovered there were more than 10 spots in his liver (not a candidate for surgery now), and some signs of the disease in one vertebrae. He started chemo right away. He's going to his fifth round on Monday and they will do another MRI and see where we are. He hasn't had any crazy side effects (the neuralsta gets him tired for a day). Any pain has gone away. I see him and I get full of hope, but then I get in my mind and I get desperate. The doc has been helpful and he is treating this as a chronic disease. He refuses to give my dad x amount of days, weeks, months, years. We like him. My dad is 66 years old.

I know we are dealing with a beast. But we need to have all the hope we can get to keep us going. My dad is being very positive and hopeful. Can I get any Stage IV remission stories, please? I've been reading and the people here seem to be very nice. Any hope is greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    Welcome to the forum, ROSEPE

A loving daughter, seeking help and comfort for her dad. Warms the soul!