Half way scan anxiety

Hi Everyone,

im new to this and this is my first post. I've read many post which have given me hope and motivation. My mother (aged79) was diagnosed with bowel cancer, she has had major surgery and 6 round of folfox. It's been difficult but overall her FBC's have been good. We are now faced with the upcoming scan and are worried. Any advice?? Cathy

Comments

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    My advice

Don't worry!  

Oh, I know, better said than done. 

My Oncologist would not scan or do blood work during treatment, as he said it was unreliable, due to several factors; one being inflamation caused by surgery and treatment.  

It is frustrating that each Oncologist has different ideas. I wish they would all treat on one standard, but that would be silly, I guess. 

Think happy thoughts! Think positive, and if the scan results are less than positive, remember, your mum is still only half way through treatment.

Welcome to the forum. Keep visiting, as we're full of (it) wonderful information and loads of support. 

Tru

• CathC
    CathC Member Posts: 17
    Trubrit said:

My advice

Don't worry!  

Oh, I know, better said than done. 

My Oncologist would not scan or do blood work during treatment, as he said it was unreliable, due to several factors; one being inflamation caused by surgery and treatment.  

It is frustrating that each Oncologist has different ideas. I wish they would all treat on one standard, but that would be silly, I guess. 

Think happy thoughts! Think positive, and if the scan results are less than positive, remember, your mum is still only half way through treatment.

Welcome to the forum. Keep visiting, as we're full of (it) wonderful information and loads of support. 

Tru

Thank you Tru, you are right,

Thank you Tru, you are right, we will stay positive. The forum is a great comfort. 

• shinnyr
    shinnyr Member Posts: 1
    My Mom just had her halfway