Hello all

Hello all,

This is my first time posting but I have been “stalking” the board the last couple of weeks reading some new and old treads to get an idea of what treatments and success rates others have had.   It seems that I am having a little bit of a different treatment plan than others but wanted to share my story, concerns, etc.   This is a little long - sorry about that but wanted to introduce myself and my journey thus far.  

I was diagnosed with low grade stage 1 uterine cancer in November of last year at age 29.  I was diagnosed after a biopsy in my gynecologists office.  I had been bleeding abnormally (hadn’t stopped bleeding in over 2 months), had severe cramps and blood clouts.  My gynecologist did a pap which came back clear.  A couple of weeks later I was sent to the ER on a Saturday because I had extremely bleeding (my doctor was afraid I had lost too much blood). The next week my gynecologist ordered a ultrasound and did a biopsy.  She wanted to cover all bases but thought it was my PCOS “acting up” and nothing to be concerned about.  It turned out to be cancer.  Helpful hint when your doctor calls and asks you to come in to go over test results, you should go in.  I asked for the results over the phone because I was at a conference and the next day I had a bunch of meetings planned I couldn’t (really didn’t want to) miss.  Bad idea. 

I was diagnosed 8 days before Thanksgiving and therefore I had to wait a couple of weeks to see a gynecologic oncologist.  He recommended doing hormone therapy to treat the cancer (Mirena IUD) instead of surgery.  Some of the reasons are because of my age, the fact that I would like children, or at least the option to have children one dad, and that the cancer was caught early.