Tissue Expanders

Options
lcfultz
lcfultz Member Posts: 6

I'm new to this so please bear with me...  I know that tissue expanders are only meant to stretch the skin/muscle and in no way touted to look like natural breast.  But, with that said, will there be more projection as there are more fills?  I had my BMX 2/17 and expanders placed 5/17 (200ccs at time of surgery).  I've had three 100cc fills (every two weeks) and am now up to 500ccs with another scheduled next week.  I keep waiting on projection although I understand it won't be like natural breast.  My expanders are Mentor TEXP140RH.  I'm thinking I have 2-3 more fills to go but I'm not sure if I'll be able to go as far as I want.  This last fill (my third 100cc fill) has remained uncomfortable after a week out and it seemed more painful going in.  I have not had radiation and only (Thank God) taking Tamoxifen instead of traditional chemo. I'm just concerned that everything seems so flat and spread out under my arms and is tender and uncomfortable.  Any advice?

Comments

• Clementine_P
    Clementine_P Member Posts: 518 Member
    Options
    Projection

Icfultz,

The implants will have more projection than the expanders.  The expanders are wider than the implants will be because the doctor needs about 10% more room than the implant will need in order to get it in there and get it in place.  The implants won't project like a natural breast does, however.  It isn't the same but in clothes (and in a bathing suit) my implants look fine.  The implants are also much more comfortable.  They are much more forgiving and also don't extend to under the arms. 

Clementine

• Beepositive
    Beepositive Member Posts: 259 Member
    edited July 2017 #3
    Options