First new topic post - awaiting official diagnosis.

Options

I had a biopsy last week and an MRI yesterday but I already know what they will reveal because I can feel it. Tongue, throat, voice box, neck nodes both sides. it is affecting my eating, speech and breathing with rapid progression. Whatever that blood test is that shows cancer level in your body - mine is totally sky high.  I don't think they're going to tell me it is a fever that a shot can cure. If I hadn't smoked and drank like a merchant sailor for 40 years I might kid myself that this would clear up but I know I won't be walking this one off. 

I know they are never supposed to indicate results or any emotion but the MRI Tech was so overly kind to me on the way out, I knew that even he knew how bad it is.  I know, I know, many people will say I am not a doctor and can't possibly know but I have 54 years of experience living in this tortured mind and body and I know we are on the way down. 

After reading so many stories, I will be refusing treatment.  I will not go under the knife and have my tongue cut out, I will not accept chemotherapy which is simply poison and kills more people than it cures, I will not take radiation to fry my mouth and throat and cause unimaginable agony. I am no longer young and I can neither survive nor even afford weeks in the ICU. I have been intubated once and that experience alone was so terrible I will never do it again. 

I am not looking for sympathy or encouragement, I am just interested in thoughts from other people who may be going through or have gone through the same and may have thoughts to share.

Comments

• soonermom
    soonermom Member Posts: 155
    edited July 2017 #2
    Options
    Something to think about