Any Stage II Ovarian Cancer Survivors?

mlciavola
mlciavola Member Posts: 4

Hi - I am brand new to this discussion board. My mom was diagnosed with Stage 2C ovarian cancer a week ago.  Ironically, she had a hysterectomy (including removal of her ovaries) 11 years ago. However, because it was done laproscopically, apparently there were some ovarian cells left behind.  She is in complete shock and, quite frankly, the survival stats you find online are not exactly encouraging.  There was an old thread on this board (2009-2011) that asked if there were any Stage II ovarian cancer survivors out there. I'm posting the same request now, 6 years later, hoping to connect with anyone else who is/was a stage 2, to see how they are doing and if they have had any reoccurrances.  Just looking for a little hope.

Comments

• LorettaMarshall
    LorettaMarshall Member Posts: 662 Member
    Miciavola~There's plenty of HOPE here~glad U wrote!

Good morning “Miciavola”

You are one smart person to start a new topic instead of posting under the 2011 link.  This way all the information that you receive will be tailored to your mom’s cancer.  There are survivors here from many stages of Ovarian Cancer.  You didn’t ask if there were any “Stage IV Ovarian Cancer” patients OUT HERE but here I am, and there are others.  I was diagnosed with a Stage IV cancer the first time around.  I had no particular symptoms.  And yes, frankly, the stats are not so good, because there are no specific tests for Ovarian cancer that catches it in the earliest of stages.  That’s the problem.  But there are specific treatments for each stage.