OMG - I'm at wits end

erfrette
erfrette Member Posts: 1

My wife went through breast cancer 5 years ago.  Discovered while she was 32 and 12 weeks pregnant.  We are both nurses.  

My problem is, I can't be her caretaker.  I take care of people for a living, day in and day out.  I took care of her while she dealt with cancer and pregnancy.  I took care of our first born when she didn't have the patience to do so.  But, it's now five years later, and I still feel like I'm "taking care" of her.  Her depression, which is understandable, hasn't let up at all.  Our second child has come, and I have given up a career to stay at home with him because she is unable to do so.  She has been in remission for 4+ years, with only one scare since, which turned out to be nothing.  How do I move along and continue in this routine?  I'm tired of maintaining the house, managing the children, and making sure she's okay.  I know that depression has a lot to do with it, and she's being treated.  But I often wonder if it's just not enough.  

Any others have a problem moving forward?  

Thanks. 

Comments

• JosephK
    JosephK Member Posts: 64
    Let me put it in perspective

Let me put it in perspective for you. I just lost my partner of 16 years to Breast Cancer on May 12th, 2017. I will never get a chance to take care of her again. She is gone. You still have your wife and you have many years still with her. I realize she is going through a tough time now but be thankful she is still alive and with you. Plus you have 2 children together as well. You will look back at this when you are older and be thankful you had these times. It may be overwhelming now but take a step back, breath, and then realize what you have. You are fortunate than many others. Many of us have lost and still wish we had our loved ones here with us. Cherish what you have.

• soonermom
    soonermom Member Posts: 155
    Get Help