Am I doing the right thing?

Options
Thiggy
Thiggy Member Posts: 4

Hi all,

This is my first post here. I've been reading the forums for a week or so. I was told I have a mass in my left kidney on 4/28/17. I'm scheduled for an open radical nephrectomy on 5/11. Heres my dilemna....my son is just 2 weeks into basic training in the army. I've decided not to tell him anything until he graduates. I know if I tell him he will want to quit and come home. With all the emotions and uncertainty of the diagnosis this is the thing that weighs on me the most. Am I doing the right thing?

Comments

• Noellesmom
    Noellesmom Member Posts: 1,859 Member
    Options
    Hard call

I probably would not tell my son. Just one more thing for you to worry about.

There is no one right answer.

• Thiggy
    Options

Hard call

I probably would not tell my son. Just one more thing for you to worry about.

There is no one right answer.

Thank you, I'm not good with

Thank you, I'm not good with indecision lol

• Kidney_Cancer_Kid
    Kidney_Cancer_Kid Member Posts: 46 Member
    edited May 2017 #4
    Options
    Bless you and your son

Thiggy,

All I can say is that you two will be in my thoughts and prayers.  I have no answers.

Kidney_Cancer_Kid

• JerzyGrrl
    JerzyGrrl Member Posts: 760 Member
    Options
    By now...

You're no doubt post-nephrectomy and wondering if anyone thought to get the license plate number of the truck that hit you. The first day is The Worst. The second day is not particularly fun, but better. Rest up, walk (it helps the pain, honest, 'cause you want to work the carbon dioxide out of your system), take it easy. You'll feel better and better each day. Your son hearing from you right after surgery and your trying to sound "normal" might be a tough sale, so I hope you have a few days to get back in shape for your next chat.