Step-daughter of NPC Patient

reagen_smith
reagen_smith Member Posts: 3
edited March 2017 in Head and Neck Cancer #1

Hello everyone- my name is Reagen and I'm new. I'm new to this site, but more than that, I'm new to the world of cancer.

My-step father was diagnosed with Nasopharyngeal carcinoma yesterday. He goes in for a PET scan Monday to find out what stage it is. I'll update this post when we find out.

I'm unsure of what to expect from any of this and I'm trying to find out as much as I can about NPC. So far, I've gathered that:

• It's rare. Something like 1 in 100,000 North Americans will get it.
  • Men who smoke and drink or were exposed to a mono-causing virus are most at risk. He certainly smokes and drinks, but I can't say if he's had mono or not.
  • The five-year survival rates seem alright? I read somewhere that stage one patients have a 76% survival rate- I don't know if that's good or bad. The stage two and three rates were also not shabby at 64% and 62%. Of course, the stage four rate was much more bleak at 38%.
  • And that if it has metastasized to distant parts of the body, it is incurable.

All of this seems to make sense, but at the same time I'm clueless as to how it all relates to us. If anyone who has experienced this disease has any advice for me or my family, I would love to hear it. Any support in these early days will mean a lot, I'm sure, in the months to come.

-----

We found out today that he is stage II. Next Thursday he will be having surgery in his neck to remove a lymph node, half of his thyroid, one tonsil, and part of his Jugular artery. It's fairly intensive, followed by six weeks of radiation. 

Comments

• CivilMatt
    CivilMatt Member Posts: 4,722 Member
    getting started

reagen_smith,

Hello again,

There are number of H&N members who are NPC survivors, they fought the battle and won.