Allow myself to introduce..... myself

BK64
BK64 Member Posts: 3

Hi Gang;

Husband of other new member "Chicklette" here.  

As she mentioned in her "Introducing Myself" post, I have recently received a diagnosis of HPV+ Squamous Cell Carcinoma.  I have the classic lump in the neck which I noticed while shaving back in December.  When it didn't go away (I had a cold at the time) I went to get it checked out and was referred for an ultrasound just in case.  That day started me down a road I never wanted to travel, but I'm glad I did.  Getting a diagnosis sure is an eye-opener, and I feel my whole perspective on life changing daily.  

I have some great doctors and medical facilities available to me both in New Hampshire and Boston, MA.  I'm encouraged by the good prognosis these doctors have given me, but I'll admit, I'm scared about the process and the recovery.  I am a lifelong musician and singer, so the thought of radiation to my neck is a bit worrisome, but so be it.  This is going to be a bumpy road, but I have every intention of a return to performing by year's end.  I'll take whatever happens as it comes.  It's very encouraging to see so many people have gotten through it and carried on with their lives.

My first Oncology-Radiology consultation will be at the end of this month at Mass. General Hospital in Boston.  I look forward to sharing experiences and being helpful in any way I can.

Comments

• MMDowns
    MMDowns Member Posts: 318
    edited March 2017 #2
    Welcome!  This is a wonderful