After Ilestomy Reversal Advice needed

Suzycat
Suzycat Member Posts: 3

This is my first time on here and I was diagnosed with rectal cancer back in October and had my surgery in November, then I had my reversal surgery on February 27, 2017.  It has been challenging to say the least.  I'm hoping to get some advice from people who have gone through this to see what steps they have taken.  It just seems like my life right now is geared around my pooping or possible pooping etc.  It seems when I go now it's little amounts several times.  It's nothing to make maybe 10 trips to the bathroom in an hour.  Resulting in a very sore bottom and sometimes bleeding.  I'm sure this is normal (the bleeding part I hope).  I've been using desitin, preperation H, neosporin with pain relievers in it, etc.  I even tried tucks but with the rawness those burn.  I can now start eating high fiber, so I'm hoping that will help but I'm going to also try taking a dose of metamucil once a day and am hoping maybe that will help my poop form into more normal poop and possibly have one bowel movement a day (wishful thinking??). 

So if anyone can share some tips on this I would be so grateful.  When I'm at work I try to eat very little just to get through the day, come dinnertime, I eat a little more and then if I can get through dinner without getting up, the next hour or two I spend in and out of the bathroom.  At that point I just want to cry sometimes.  Anyway, I appreciate any advice from you.

Comments

• danker
    danker Member Posts: 1,276 Member

Get a prescripion of LOMOTIL to cope with the diarrhea.  Radiagel available at wallmart will relieve your bun burn.  Good Luck to you!

• Suzycat
    Suzycat Member Posts: 3
    edited March 2017 #3
    Thank you Danker.  I'll check

Thank you Danker.  I'll check out the Radiagel. 

• RickMurtagh
    RickMurtagh Member Posts: 587 Member
    edited April 2017 #4
    bowels